Learn about ida, pingala, sushumna, the three main energy meridians in human body, Kundalini, chakras, Samadhi and more. Three nadis are of particular interest to yogis. The sushumna (most gracious) nadi is the body's great river, running from the base of the spine to. These are ida and pingala, which surround a central major current, sushumna. The ida current is feminine and the channel of physical-emotional energy.


Author: Dr. Lera Brown
Country: Kiribati
Language: English
Genre: Education
Published: 28 February 2016
Pages: 67
PDF File Size: 17.41 Mb
ePub File Size: 21.51 Mb
ISBN: 449-5-56518-308-4
Downloads: 90668
Price: Free
Uploader: Dr. Lera Brown


Motoyama's research reveals that none of the yogic texts actually describe in detail the paths of the ida and pingala. There is certainly no discussion of the nadis crossing at the chakras. Implied is that the nadis flow up alongside ida pingala sushumna spine much like the Urinary Bladder lines in Chinese medicine.

His experience ida pingala sushumna that these channels pass through the nostrils on their way to their termination in the ajna chakra at the point between the eyebrows. An interesting thing happens to the flow of energy in our ida and pingala channels: See if you can tell which nostril is more open right now.


Generally if you close one nostril while you breathe, and then the other, you can tell ida pingala sushumna one is more open.

The 14 planes correspond directly to the chakras, psychic force centers within the inner bodies of the soul. The 14 chakras are "doorways" within man to each of the 14 planes. Note that the five states of mind -- superconscious, ida pingala sushumna, conscious, subconscious and subsubconscious -- are also listed in this column.

The 36 tattvas, are the basic "building blocks" of the universe, successively grosser evolutes of consciousness.

Ida and Pingala

These are in three groups. The sheaths or bodies. Below we provide below a deeper elucidation of the chakras and the three primary nerve currents of the inner body: The ida pingala sushumna are nerve plexuses or centers of force and consciousness located within the bodies of man.

In the physical body there are corresponding nerve plexuses, ganglia and glands.

Ida and Pingala

The seven ida pingala sushumna chakras can be seen psychically as colorful, multi-petalled wheels or lotuses situated along the spinal cord. The seven lower chakras, barely visible, exist below the spine connecting with the earth Chakra, Kundalini Chakra in the Center of the Earth.

The Chakras Above sahasrara chakra: The most subtle of the chakras lie above the crown chakra at the top of the head, the higher the Chakra the more powerful it is, the more functionality it has, the higher its frequency. As we exist within an Antahkarana tower of energy which stretches from Earth to Heaven, it is really good to be able to talk to and control each chakra.

The way to do this is to remove all Negative karmic mass, all energy blockages which block the communication. The medieval Sat-Cakra-Nirupana sone of the later and more fully developed classical texts on nadis and chakras, refers to these three main nadis by the names Sasi, Mihira, and Susumna.

In the space outside the Meru, the right apart from the body placed on the left and the right, are the two Nadis, Sasi and Mihira. The Nadi Susumna, whose substance is the threefold Gunas, is in the ida pingala sushumna. She is the form of Moon, Sun, and Fire even water also; Her body, a string of blooming Dhatura flowers, extends from the middle of the Kanda to the Head, and the Vajra inside Her extends, shining, from the Medhra to the Head.

Chinese[ edit ] Systems based on Traditional Chinese Medicine work with an energy concept called qi.

Ida, Pingala, Sushumna and the Shat-Chakras

Qi travels through meridians similar in description to the nadis. The microcosmic orbit practice has many similarities to certain Indian nadi shuddha channel clearing exercises and the practice of Ida pingala sushumna Yoga.

Tibetan[ edit ] Tibetan medicine borrows many concepts from Yoga through the influence of Tantric Buddhism. One of the Six Yogas of Naropa is a cleansing of the central channel called phowapreparing the soul to leave the body ida pingala sushumna the sagittal suture.